Having trouble viewing this email? Click here for web version.


NRF to Recognize Outstanding
Loss Prevention Professionals

WASHINGTON -- May 23, 2023 - The National Retail Federation today announced the recipients of the 2023 NRF PROTECT Awards, the highest loss prevention and asset protection recognitions in the retail industry. Six veteran loss prevention professionals will be honored on June 6 during the annual NRF PROTECT conference in Grapevine, Texas.

"The NRF PROTECT Awards honor individuals who have dedicated their professional careers to keeping their colleagues, customers and stores safe," NRF Chief Marketing Officer and Executive Vice President of Content and Retail Strategy Martine Reardon said. "Loss prevention and asset protection operations are paramount to the safety of retailers, customers and communities nationwide, and we are proud to celebrate this year's honorees for the positive impact they have made."

NRF's Loss Prevention Ring of Excellence Award honors distinguished professionals who have impacted the loss prevention industry throughout their careers. The 2023 recipients are:

Read Hayes, a research scientist and co-director of the Loss Prevention Research Team at the University of Florida, and founder and director of the Loss Prevention Research Council. With more than three decades of experience, he plays a pivotal role in supporting the retail community with research.

Joan Manson, a leader in the loss prevention space for over 40 years. Manson first joined The Container Store in 1997 and created the retailer's first loss prevention program. Now retired, she is also credited with establishing what is now known as the Women in LP Network.

Chad McIntosh, the former top loss prevention executive at Bloomingdale's. McIntosh has a career spanning 40 years with brands including The Home Depot and Ralph Lauren. He was also a founding member of the Loss Prevention Research Council and currently serves as its COO.

Chuck Miller, who retired from the Food Marketing Institute in 2002. Miller will be awarded posthumously for his pioneering work to combat retail theft and his career as a renowned loss prevention expert. Many of Miller's published works produced influential educational and training materials for retailers, law enforcement and academia.


Keith White, who currently serves as the chief of global safety and security for Salesforce. He previously spent almost two decades with Gap Inc. leading its loss prevention, company administration and emergency preparedness functions. Throughout his career, White has been a champion and leader in people development, diversity and talent-driven initiatives across the industry.

Additionally, the inaugural NRF Retail Cybersecurity Leadership Award will be presented to Cy Fenton, the former chair of the NRF IT Security Council. Currently a managing partner with Proximus Consulting Group, Fenton previously held leadership roles with Books-A-Million and Ralph Lauren. His cumulative professional contributions have advanced the state of cybersecurity within the retail industry at an especially critical time.

As the leading authority and voice for the retail industry, NRF will present the awards with retail security executives from across the country at NRF PROTECT, the retail industry's premier loss prevention and asset protection event, June 5-7 at the Gaylord Texan Resort.

Ring of Excellence Award

The NRF's Loss Prevention Council’s Ring of Excellence Award is the premier recognition program for loss prevention professionals. The award recognizes the lifetime of outstanding leaders whose significant achievements and contributions have undoubtedly shaped the industry. The defining quality among these leaders is that the industry would not be what it is today without their contributions. The Ring of Excellence is open to retailers, solution providers and individuals who have helped evolve the industry.

Past Ring of Excellence Honorees:

2022: Alisa Dart, Van Carney
2019: Gus Downing
2018: Bob MacLea
2017: Gene Smith
2016: Joseph LaRocca
2015: Richard Mellor
2014: Daniel Doyle
2013: George Luciano
2011: John Hegan
2010: Jim Lee
2009: Gary Manson, Sandy Katz, George Slicho
2008: Doug Wicklander, Dave Zulawski, Robert Barry, James Bridges, Shelley Connors, Ben Guffy, Robert Ralickli, Joe Roessier, Fred Wilson
2007: King Rogers, Richard Hollinger, David Myers, Lew Shealy, John Christman